2021 Underclass Prize Day

Suffield Academy held underclass prize day on Bell Hill during the chapel period on September 13. This annual event recognizes achievements from the previous academic year across academic departments. Some college book prizes, and awards for school-wide achievements and commitment to community service, are also presented. View the event and see photos of prize recipients. The list of award winners is below. 


Freshman Most Improved English Prize
Colin Walsh | Finn O’Keefe

Freshman Excellence English Prize
Chastity Blair | Hadley Harris
Honorable Mention: Gabriella Diaz

Sophomore English Prize
Bi [Sophia] Kim | Hope Clark | Mia Rubenstein

Junior English Prize
Karrah Hayes | Sophia Tosone

Brown University Book Award
Tessa Heick


Freshman History Prize
Norah Wright | Dominic Balise
Honorable Mention: Ella Slate

Sophomore US History Prize
Natziri Martinez
Honorable Mention: Aiden Longley

Sophomore Honors US History Prize
Michelle St. Jacques | Sharon Chidinma Esielem
Honorable Mention: Bi [Sophia] Kim

Junior Regional Studies Prizes
Asian Studies: India, China, Japan Prize
Manoush Pajouh | Karrah Hayes

European Studies PRIZE
Sophia Tosone
Honorable Mention: Ekaterina [Katya] Yurkovskaya and Tessa Heick

Latin American Studies Prize
Nailah Estrada
Honorable Mention: Annabelle Oman

Gettysburg Book Prize
Nathaniel Morrin
Honorable Mention: Trent Hieber

WALKS Nelson A. Pomeroy Prize
Nathaniel Morrin

Visual Arts

Photography Prize
Hailey Suller

Ceramics Prize
Kaitlyn Suller

Studio Art Prize
You Min [Zeina] Lee

Performing Arts

Vocal Prize
Kennedy Morris | Trent Hieber

Instrumental Prize
Ryan Jacobson [Jazz] | Avery Rappaport [Classical]

Scott Chambers Music Fellowship
Cormac Sullivan

Theater Prize
Chloe Coffin | Tyler Cooper


Physics Prize
Hanseo Lim | Chastity Blair

Chemistry Prize
Bi [Sophia] Kim

Biology Prize
Karrah Hayes | Jaehong [Jae] Park

Bausch & Lomb Science Award
Tessa Heick

Rensselaer Mathematics & Science Medal
Lai [Jason] Yuan


Freshman Regular Math Prize
Christian Recinos
Honorable Mention: Griffin Santopietro, Gianna Strange

Freshman Advanced Math Prize
Ania McMichael | Hao [Howard] Yu
Hanseo Lim

Honorable Mention: Zhuo [Jerry] Chen

Sophomore Regular Math Prize
Declan Hehir | Tyler Wolkoff | Zeyang [Tony] Luo
Honorable Mention: Kira McCreesh, Walton Burdick

Sophomore Advanced Math Prize
Xingjian [James] Ren | Gee Tak [Logan] Lee | Nathaniel Morrin
Honorable Mention: Emilia Boino, Brandon Park, Siye [Julia] Bao

Junior Regular Math Prize
Grace Kotchen | Devon Carty
Honorable Mention: You Min [Zeina] Lee, Giselle Ciriaco, Luke Violich-Czinczoll

Junior Advanced Math Prize
Jaehong [Jae] Park | Lai [Jason] Yuan | Songkai [Alex] Chen
Honorable Mention: Tessa Heick, Karrah Hayes, Jina Lee


Chinese Prize
Bi [Sophia] Kim
Honorable Mention: Brandon Park & Sharon Chidinma Esielem

Advanced Chinese Prize
Karrah Hayes
Honorable Mention: Jina Lee & Yeon Jeong [Isabella] Choi

French Prize
Olivia Dufresne-Achatz
Honorable Mention: Jake Islam

Advanced French Prize
Benjamin Warner | Sophia Tosone
Honorable Mention: Stephanie Karmitz & Maxwell Henderson

Spanish Prize
Nathaniel Morrin
Honorable Mention: Emilia Boino & Kira McCreesh

Advanced Spanish Prize
Manoush Pajouh
Honorable Mention: Tyler Milne & Tessa Heick

Book Prizes

Williams Book Prize
Karrah Hayes

Harvard Book Prize
Tessa Heick

Yale Book Prize
Jaehong [Jae] Park

Smith Book Prize
Sophia Tosone | Manoush Pajouh

Amherst Book Prize
Suleni Sabio-Arzu Brown

Trinity Book Prize
Zeno Dancanet

Mt. Holyoke Book Prize
Bi [Sophia] Kim

WALKS Service Prize
Paul Quinlan

Fichtenholtz Prize
Calla Woodworth

Leishman Energy Efficiency Prize
Anastasiya [Stacy] Yurkovskaya

Torch Society Prize
Lauren Burton | Yeon Jeong [Isabella] Choi | Cole Vandevanter