Underclass Prize Day

Underclass Prize Day

Suffield Academy held underclass prize day in Tisch Field House during the chapel period on September 18. This annual event recognizes achievements from the previous school year across academic departments. Some college book prizes and awards for school-wide achievements and commitment to community service are presented. Watch the video and view photos from the event. See the list of award winners below.


Freshman Most Improved English Prize
Liangchen [Eric] Bao | William Gaulin

Freshman Excellence English Prize
Soren Nelson | Danielle Stanley

Honorable Mention: Kaden Agnes, Er-jene [EJ] Lee

Sophomore English Prize
Quinn Kiernan  | Vyom Tiwari
Honorable Mention: Abigail Quinby

Junior English Prize
Chastity Blair | Ella Slate | Norah Wright

Brown University Book Award
Griffin Santopietro
Honorable Mention: Dominic Balise


Freshman Math Prize
Gavin Baer | Kira Haroche
Honorable Mention: Raegan Carty, Kathryn Clark

Freshman Advanced Math Prize
Kaden Agnes | MJ Choi | Soren Nelson
Honorable Mention: Quinn Kiernan, Seamus Sullivan

Sophomore Math Prize
Noreen Flanagan | Joshua Gamere
Honorable Mention: Nicholas Llanos

Sophomore Advanced Math Prize
Abigail Quinby | Vyom Tiwari
Honorable Mention: Mercedes Bourgeois, Vincent Prescott

Junior Math Prize
Nadima Deldari | Jessica Desnoes | Maximilian Giugliano
Honorable Mention: Caroline Powell, Alexander Tucker

Junior Advanced Math Prize
Hanseo Lim | Finn O’Keefe | Yaroslav Spytskyi
Honorable Mention: Jacob Carroll, Anna [Ania] McMichael, Norah Wright


Physics Prize
Soren Nelson

Chemistry Prize
Abigail Quinby

Freshman Biology Prize
Kaden Agnes | Kaitlyn DeSiena

junior Biology Prize
Dominic Balise

Bausch & Lomb Science Award
Woohyung [Joseph] Jung

Rensselaer Mathematics & Science Medal
Hanseo Lim


Chinese Prize
Maeve Selvitelli
Honorable Mention: Andrew Mack, Andrew Rana

Advanced Chinese Prize
Thaveelarp [MN] Mayalarp
Honorable Mention: Dongju [Alan] Kim, Hanseo Lim

French Prize
Mercedes Bourgeois | Naoya Kobayashi
Honorable Mention: Jack Carey, German Troshin

Advanced French Prize
Yaroslav Spytskyi
Honorable Mention: Dominic Balise, Ella Slate

Spanish Prize
Nyah Bailey-Burton | Vincent Prescott

Advanced Spanish Prize
Nicholas Prescott, Sean Wilson
Honorable Mention: Joseph Giugliano


Freshman History Prize
Hadley Edwards | Soren Nelson
Honorable Mention: MJ Choi

Sophomore U.S. History Prize
Isabel Rodriguez
Honorable Mention: Yaroslav Spytskyi

Sophomore Honors U.S. History Prize
Mercedes Bourgeois | Kaitlyn Caron
Honorable Mention: Ava Jacobson

Junior Regional Studies Prizes
African Studies Prize

Chastity Blair
Honorable Mention: Dominic Balise, Nadima Deldari

Asian Studies: India, China, Japan Prize
Hao [Howard] Yu
Honorable Mention: Ella Slate

European Studies PRIZE
Katherine Pieper
Honorable Mention: Finn O’Keefe

Latin American Studies Prize
Bridget Hausler | Christian Recinos
Honorable Mention: Daniela Farrell, Max Sena-Goldschmidt

Gettysburg Book Prize
Nicholas Llanos | Abigail Quinby

WALKS Nelson A. Pomeroy Prize
Nyah Bailey-Burton
Honorable Mention: Vyom Tiwari

Performing Arts

Vocal Prize
Dominic Balise

Instrumental Prize
Zhuo [Jerry] Chen [Jazz] | Thaveelarp [MN] Mayalarp, Noreen Flanagan [Classical]

Theater Prize
Ezra Mendes

Scott chambers Music fellowship
Isabel Rodriguez

Visual Arts

Photography Prize
Elizabeth Ruffa

Ceramics Prize
Christian Recinos

Studio Art Prize
Nadima Deldari

Book Prizes

Williams Book Prize
Dominic Balise

Harvard Book Prize
Sean Wilson

Yale Book Prize
Chastity Blair

Smith Book Prize
Anna [Ania] McMichael

Amherst Book Prize
Yaroslav Spytskyi

Trinity Book Prize
Jacob Carroll | Maeve Curtin

Mt. Holyoke Book Prize
Abigail Quinby

WALKS Service Prize
Isabella Dupere

Fichtenholtz Prize
Sean Wilson

Torch Society Prize
Nora Boino | Henry Harding | Darian Thomson