Performing Arts Department

On the Stage

At Suffield, students are presented with numerous opportunities to excel in theatre and dance—both onstage and behind the scenes. Each year, Suffield produces two major theatrical productions (a play and a musical), a one-act festival, a new playwrights festival, and a full dance production. Each production gives students a hands-on experience in performance, lighting, sound, stage management, set construction and house management. Students work directly with arts faculty and professionals to create quality productions each year. The theater program is designed to incorporate all types of students at Suffield. With evening rehearsals, it does not interfer with athletics allowing every student at Suffield the opportunity to excel on the field and the stage. The dance program is recognized as a winter athletic option with over forty students involved in the yearly production.

Halo Awards

Seven Angels Theatre, Greater Waterbury's only Equity Professional Theatre, hosted the 15th Annual High School Halo Awards on May 30. The largest award program in Connecticut, the Halos honor student participation in all areas of high school theatre throughout the state. Suffield Academy received 12 nominations and won two awards, including Best Contemporary Play for their production of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Individually, Dominic Colangelo ’19 won Best Male Standout Performance in an Ensemble Play as Christopher Boone in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.
2018 Suffield Academy Winners
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time  [Spring 2018 Play]
Fearless Award
Best Performance by a Cast (Ensemble Play or Musical)
Best Contemporary Play
Best Male Standout Performance (Ensemble Play or Musical) – Dominic Colangelo ’19 as Christopher Boone
Best Stage Management – Carrie Lauria-Sheehan ’19
Best Lighting Design – Oak Chaisathaporn ’19
Best Sound Design and Execution – Jack Pumphret ’18

Hairspray [Fall 2017 Musical]
Best Lighting Design – Oak Chaisathaporn ’19
Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Musical – RJ Mhoon ’18 as Seaweed 
Best Comic Male Performance in a Musical – Carlos Salguero ’18 as Corny Collins
Best Comic Female Performance in a Musical – Mia White ’18 as Velma Von Tussle
Best Choreographer – Mia White ’18
Best Specialty Ensemble – The Motormouth Kids (SOC)
14th Annual Connecticut Halo (2017) Award Winners
Best Musical – Sister Act
Best Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical – Katherine Kalill ’17 
Best Lighting – Oak Chaisathaporn ’19
13th Annual Connecticut Halo (2016) Award Winners
Fearless Award – Spring Awakening
Best Incidental Music – “The Craze Band” One Man, Two Guvnors
Amelia Hern ’17, Graham Shannon ’17, Oskar Kvaternik ’16, Matt Moryto ’18, Katherine Kalill ’17, Will Robidoux ’16, and Riley Miles ’17

Nominations for Suffield’s Theater Program
Best Contemporary Play – One Man, Two Guvnors
Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Play – Jim Krueger ’17 as Francis Henshall 
Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Play – David Gingold ’16 as Stanley Stubbers
Best Comic Male Performance in a Play – Joe Islam ’16 as Alan Dangle
Best Performance by a Supporting Actor in a Play – Cole Rogalin ’16 as Harry Dangle
Best Performance by a Supporting Actress in a Play – Ashley Sarris ’17 as Pauline Clench
Best Sound Design – Dan Mittelman ’17
Best Lighting Design – Simon Park ’16
Best Contemporary Musical – Spring Awakening   
Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Musical – Katherine Kalill ’17 as Wendla 
Best Comic Male Performance in a Musical – Graham Shannon ’17 as Hanschen
Best Stage Management – Laura De Los Santos ’17
Best Featured Dancer – Isabella Attianese ’18/Blue Angel Ballet
Best Lighting Design – Simon Park ’16
Best Performance by a Couple/Dynamic Duo in a Musical – Joe Islam ’16 & Samantha Warren ’18 as Herr Knockenbruch & Fraulein Knuppledick

List of 4 members.

  • Thomas Dugan 

    Chair, Performing Arts Department
    Emerson College - B.A.
    Emerson College - M.A.
    Read Bio
  • Thomas Gotwals 

    Bradford C. Gooch Chair in Music
    Oberlin College - B.A.
    Oberlin Conservatory - B. Mus.
    Yale School of Music - M. Mus.
    Read Bio
  • Chelsea Kane ’09 

    Performing Arts Department
    Providence College - B.A.
    Boston University - M. Mus.
  • Gis-Ximena Nahmens 

    Chair of the Languages Department
    Universidad Catolica Andres Bello - B.A.
    Rochester Institute of Technology - M.S.
Suffield Academy   185 North Main Street   Suffield, Connecticut 06078   Phone 860.386.4400  |  Fax 860.386.4411