News Detail

Kent-Davis Speaking Competition

A great Suffield tradition continued with the annual Kent-Davis Speaking Competition on May 23. The intention of the competition is to showcase excellent oratory skills. Eleven Suffield seniors competed in two categories: The Emmet Kent Public Speaking Prize and The Charles G. Davis Oratory Prize. The Emmett Kent Public Speaking Prize is awarded to a student who presents an original speech in three minutes or less, and the Charles G. Davis Oratory Prize is awarded to a student who presents an adaptation of an original piece of writing, authored by someone other than the writer. This year's Kent Competition participants included Emma Tryon, Kaitlyn Nigro, Maggie O’Shea, Yasmin Gerardeau, and Susan Le. The Davis speakers were Baek Kang, Angela Vecchiarelli, Callie Platt, Dan Bennett, Adriana Cacares Ruiz Diaz, and Tristen Lorenzo Moore. The winners of the competitions will be announced at Suffield’s 183rd Commencement on May 27.
Suffield Academy   185 North Main Street   Suffield, Connecticut 06078   Phone 860.386.4400  |  Fax 860.386.4411