Annual Underclass Prize Day

Several students were recognized during Suffield Academy’s annual Underclass Prize Day on September 19. This day honors those students who demonstrated hard work and enthusiasm during the 2015-2016 school year. Each academic department awards prizes for success and improvement in the classroom and several prizes honor excellence across the curriculum, school-wide contributions, and commitment to community service.
The complete list of award winners is below.
AP Scholars (Class of 2017)
Arseniy Dolgin
Kirill Dolgin
Jeremy Greer
Amelia Hern
Morgan Islam
Sarah Pajouh
Yash Patel
Anna Wilson
Eman Wong
AP Scholars with Honor (Class of 2017)
Chris Ennis
Leo Oh
Emma Paul
Andrew Robitaille
Sam Seo
AP Scholars with Distinction (Class of 2017)
Megan Varney
Physics Prize: Shane Donahue ’19
Chemistry Prize: Bridget Carey ’18
Biology Prize: Anna Wilson ’17
Bausch & Lomb Science Medal: Megan Varney ’17
Rensselaer Mathematics & Science Medal: Emma Paul ’17
Freshman English Prize (Most Improved): Ryan Lunsford
      *Honorable Mention: Shane Donahue
Sophomore English Prize: Michael Robidoux
Sophomore English Prize: Zoey (Nan) Zheng
Sophomore English Prize: Devina Bhalla
Sophomore English Prize: Sarah Swanson
      *Honorable Mention: Matt Titterton & Kate Rookey
Brown Book Award: Anna Wilson
Junior English Prize: Emma Paul
Freshman Mathematics Prize: Anna Wilcox
Freshman Mathematics Prize: Molly McGrath
Freshman Mathematics Prize (Advanced): Isabel Kokko
Freshman Mathematics Prize (Advanced): Tiffany (Zhiqi) Zhang
      *Honorable Mention: Kate Tatarkina, John Caezza, Jackson Pentz, & Daniel Krasemann
Sophomore Mathematics Prize: Jennifer Ungerleider
      *Honorable Mention: Tori Repka
Sophomore Mathematics Prize (Advanced): Zoey (nan) Zheng
      *Honorable Mention: Bridget Carey & Devon Loftus
Junior Mathematics Prize: Kirsti Kokko
      *Honorable Mention: Isabelle Ricke, Morgan Islam, Kaelena Daniels, & Sarah Pajouh
Junior Mathematics Prize (Advanced): Megan Varney
Junior Mathematics Prize (Advanced): Emma Paul
      *Honorable Mention: Nora Chen & Shane Pornprinya
Chinese Prize: Maximillian Shlafstein ’18
      *Honorable Mention: Zak Kidd ’18
Chinese Prize (Advanced): Leo (Jinwoo) Oh ’17
Chinese Prize (Advanced): John (Joao) Lee ’17
      *Honorable Mention: Teem Durongkapitaya ’17
French Prize: Natalie Castonguay ’19
French Prize: Daniel Krasemann ’19
French Prize (Advanced): Christopher Donohue ’17
French Prize (Advanced): Anna Wilson ’17
Spanish Prize: Devon Loftus ’18
Spanish Prize (Advanced): Amelia Hern ’17
Spanish Prize (Advanced): Andrew Robitaille ’17
Freshman History Prize: Dominic Colangelo
      *Honorable Mention: Jackson Pentz & Daniel Krasemann
Sophomore US History Prize: Griffin Kornaker
      *Honorable Mention: Owen Kinne & Matteo Calderan
Sophomore Honors US History Prize: Bridget Carey
      *Honorable Mention: Kate Rookey & Caroline Gingold
China & East Asia Studies Prize: Shane (Subhachote) Pornprinya ’17
European Studies Prize: Christopher Donohue ’17
      *Honorable Mention: Sam Seo ’17
Latin America Studies Prize: Ashley Sarris ’17
      *Honorable Mention: Isabelle Ricke ’17
Holy Cross Book Award-Excellence in History: Anna Wilson ’17
WALKS Nelson A. Pomeroy Prize: Christopher Ennis ’17
      *Honorable Mention: Anna Wilson ’17
Freshman Vocal: Millie (Shiyuan) Gao
Sophomore Vocal: Arianna Saxton
Junior Vocal: Graham Shannon
Jazz Instrumental: John Caezza ’19
Classical Instrumental: Niah Samboy ’19
Scott Chambers Music Fellowship: Hannah Arthur ’17
Theater Prize: Thomas Killam ’19 & Eliza Gregory ’19
Visual Art: Daria Kovaleva & Leyza Okoji
      *Honorable Mention: Matt de Haan ’17, Brooklynn Hayes ’17, Nora Chen ’17, & Ameera Moumina ’17
Ceramics: Isabelle Ricke ’17
Photography: Elizabeth Sacco ’17
Fichtenholtz Award: Ian Mactaggart ’17
Williams Book Prize: Amelia Hern ’17
Harvard Book Prize: Anna Wilson ’17

Yale Book Prize: Megan Varney ’17

Smith Book Prize: Sarah Pajouh ’17
Trinity Book Prize: Jason Louro ’17
Amherst Book Prize: Isabelle Ricke ’17 & Yash Patel ’17
Dartmouth Book Prize: Bridget Carey ’18
Mount Holyoke Book Prize: Kate Rookey ’18
You may view additional photos from the ceremony on smugmug. 

Suffield Academy   185 North Main Street   Suffield, Connecticut 06078   Phone 860.386.4400  |  Fax 860.386.4411