News Detail

Kent-Davis Speaking Competition

A great Suffield tradition continued with the annual Kent-Davis Speaking Competition on May 22. The intention of the competition is to showcase excellent oratory skills. Nineteen Suffield seniors competed in two categories: The Emmet Kent Public Speaking Prize and The Charles G. Davis Oratory Prize. The Emmett Kent Public Speaking Prize is awarded to a student who presents an original speech in three minutes or less, and the Charles G. Davis Oratory Prize is awarded to a student who presents an adaptation of an original piece of writing, authored by someone other than the writer. This year's Kent Competition participants included Ryder Mosby, Liz Sacco, Andrew Robitaille, Brooklynn Hayes, Hannah Arthur, Maggy Skaugen, and Jonah Perry.Davis speakers were Shane Pornprinya, Julia Murphy, Eva Crouse, Isabella Pesaresi, Katherine Kalill, Emma Paul, Isabelle Ricke, Megan Varney, Amelia Hern, Cari Cyr, Riley Carrier, and Lauren Henzy.The winners of the competitions will be announced at Suffield’s 184th Commencement on May 26.

Suffield Academy   185 North Main Street   Suffield, Connecticut 06078   Phone 860.386.4400  |  Fax 860.386.4411